Orange you glad I’m an Infographic.

oranges1

This week’s assignment (if you can’t tell) is to complete an infographic! And it’s a punny one at that!

We were tasked with including at least 10 facts from one of three provided articles. I chose to do my infographic using the facts found in an orange nutrition facts article. Here is the source of my information:

http://www.livescience.com/45057-oranges-nutrition-facts.html

I found this particular assignment difficult primarily because we had to use 10 facts. I really liked my design after 6 facts, but ended up making the graphic longer so that I could incorporate more designs. It was also a very time-consuming project and the portions that I did early on are much more creative than the ones I did later! So, a word of advice is to give yourself plenty of time to include breaks! It was very challenging to think graphically, but the assignment really opened my eyes to that process, and I think as I move forward I will begin to think in that manner more, as in, ‘how would I show that graphically?’ I love infographics, and I would love to become very skilled at creating them. Another tip: I should have created character styles so that I could change a font via the character style at any point and my previous styles would also be updated. I struggled with that as I finished the project and looked at it and wanted to tweak things like fonts.

My strategy was simply to start with the stats that I felt were easier to illustrate. I am not sure that was much of a strategy but it got me started and that was important since this was my first infographic creation! I also wanted to use a fun font for this infographic, since it is about a happy subject like delicious oranges, but then as I continued on in the process, I discovered that the bolder, simpler fonts were easier to read.

Overall, this infographic was a great learning experience! I am looking forward to doing another one now that I’ve made a few “mistakes” in the process and know better what to expect.

Leave a comment